Xbox LIVE Indie Games
Sort Discussions: Previous Discussion Next Discussion
Page 1 of 1 (13 posts)

Unreliable Export from SketchUp into XNA ? - What Works ?

Last post 12/13/2010 1:58 PM by Stonecode. 12 replies.
  • 12/12/2010 2:19 AM

Unreliable Export from SketchUp into XNA ? - What Works ?

Hello

So I am new to XNA and 3D Modelling.  I tried Blender but it was way too daunting for my little brain to get into.  So I have started out with Google SketchUp (version 8)  and using the xExporter into X Files.  For very simply models (and color textures) this seemed to work for me in my XNA phone App.  So I have a basic 3D model of a ship and Sprites all looking OK. - But I wanted to work on a more sophisticated 3D model, so worked up a nice model in SketchUp.  

Then I started getting into deeper SketchUp Models, using Groupings, different color textures.  - But it then all starts to go wrong when I view in my XNA game.  Parts of the models components are displaced, or don't show, some faces are missing etc.

My searches to resolve this discovered two aspects
    - I need to explode all Groups in Google Skectflow prior to Export  - But this made no difference
    - As I am using 2D Sprites as well, I should be using SpriteBatch.Begin(SpriteBlendMode.AlphaBlend, SpriteSortMode.deferred, SaveStateMode.SaveState)   - However this method is no longer seems available in XNA 4.0 

Instead on xExporter I have also tried 3DRad which seems a bit more robust and clear in its export options.

I have used DirectX 3D Viewers, and my model seems look geometrically OK in that, albeit it is not clear how Textures are displayed

I have also downloaded various SkecthUp Models, and tried to export these into .X format with mixed results.  Some look OK DirectX Viewer, but when displyed in XNA, some faces and components also become missing.