Xbox LIVE Indie Games
Sort Discussions: Previous Discussion Next Discussion
Page 1 of 1 (23 posts)

Blender - Textures and .fbx

Last post 9/24/2011 5:23 PM by Z.s. 22 replies.
  • 9/6/2007 8:18 AM

Blender - Textures and .fbx

Hi all,

I'm a super newbie, and am trying to display a cube with a texture loaded from a .png file I have.

I have tryed drawing the cube in blender, and adding the texture under the links and pipeline option.  I can get the model to display in blender with the texture, but when I export it, I can't get the texture to come up.  I've tryed doing what they do in the tutorial and putting the model in the models folder and my .png file I used for the texture in the textures folder.

Does anyone know of any good walkthroughs available for creating a .fbx (model and associated texture) file in blender.  I'm assuming I'm doing something wrong with the export process...

Cheers,

Mark.

• 9/6/2007 9:56 AM In reply to

Re: Blender - Textures and .fbx

I had the same problem. When applying texture to your model in blender, you have to use the UV-tool in blender. If you don't use this tool i don't think you can get your texture on the model
  • 9/7/2007 3:15 AM In reply to

I am currently working on some walk throughs and should have them up soon.
  • 9/12/2007 1:38 PM In reply to

Hi,

This is my workflow.

Hope this helps...

Exporting a Textured Model in the FBX Format from Blender to XNA

Comprehensive Workflow (using Blender version 2.44)

FIRST CREATE A SIMPLE TEXTURED CUBE MESH ...

1. Launch Blender and start a new empty scene

2. Create a cube: <hit space bar in top view> then Add->Mesh->Cube

3. Select 'Object Mode'

4. Hit the 'N' key to bring up Transform Properties and Scale X,Y,Z by a factor of 8 - then close the dialogue

5. Select the Shading tab (hit F5) and Add New Material to the cube

6. In the Materials Panel, select 'TexFace'

7. In the Texture Panel, select 'Add New'

8. In the 'Map Input' panel, select 'UV'