Xbox LIVE Indie Games
Sort Discussions: Previous Discussion Next Discussion
Page 1 of 3 (59 posts) 1 2 3 Next >

iPhone / App Store vs XNA / Indie Games

Last post 9/24/2009 11:29 AM by BigDaddio. 58 replies.
  • 8/1/2009 10:01 AM

iPhone / App Store vs XNA / Indie Games

Hi all,

I'm hoping for a sensible discussion here, try not to derail the thread if you're a massive Apple hater :-)

I developed a game (Jungle Blocks) in XNA (I'm a .NET coder by trade, so XNA got me quite excited). I released it before it was really finished (I'd planned to add multiplayer, powerups, and other stuff), and in the 6-8 weeks it's been on sale, it's sold around 160 copies and now only gets one every few days. I can't lower the price to 80 points until it's been up for 90 days, so I don't know if I'll see many more sales as a result. Having an iPhone, and a friend that works developing iPhone apps, I was thinking about the idea of playing with iPhone development too.

I thought there might be others on these forums that have done both, so I thought it'd be a good place to get some info!

I'd be interested in hearing experiences people have had with both. Similarities, differences, pros and cons of each. Here's a few points that might be discussion-worthy :-)

- Speed of development (eg. IDE/build/debug)
    - Amount of development (HD game with surround sound vs small game on tiny screen!)
    - Publish/review procedure
    - Size of market / Sales (XNA vs iPhone for similar sized and priced applictions

I know this is kinda like comparing Apples and Oranges - the Xbox is an Xbox, the iPhone is a phone. But there are a lot of similarities when it comes to the development, so I'd like to know whether people think it's worth dipping into (£500 to buy a Mac Mini being the biggest hurdle!). I know you're mostly all MS-fans here (I am too) so I expect there to be some bias, but hopefully there'll be some juicy info here :-)
  • 8/1/2009 10:14 AM In reply to