Xbox LIVE Indie Games
Sort Discussions: Previous Discussion Next Discussion
Page 1 of 2 (28 posts) 1 2 Next >

How to prevent the mouse from going out of the window?

Last post 7/30/2007 11:49 PM by Nick Gravelyn. 27 replies.
  • 7/23/2007 1:51 AM

How to prevent the mouse from going out of the window?

Hello I'm quite new to XNA I hope somebody could help me with my problem.

I want to keep the mouse from going of the game window, and I can't seem to find a way to do this.

*Note: The window is not in fullscreen mode.

Thanks in advance. ^_^

• 7/23/2007 2:02 AM In reply to

Re: How to prevent the mouse from going out of the window?

There really isn't a way that I'm aware of. Why do you need to keep the mouse in the window? Maybe with more details we can find a different solution to your problem.
  • 7/23/2007 2:03 AM In reply to

When using the built in mouse you will find that you will not be able to stop the mouse from leaving the window as you are going to need it for the rest of your application.

But When using a custom mouse pointer you are able to only show your custom pointer on the current game window, then when the mouse leaves the mouse will change back to the windows one :) and leave your custom one on the screen.

To help I have created a Custom Mouse pointer that you might be able to use.

• 7/23/2007 3:40 AM In reply to

Try this:

if (currentMouseState.X != previousMouseState.X)
    cursorPosition.X += amountOfMovement * 4f * (currentMouseState.X - previousMouseState.X);

if (currentMouseState.Y != previousMouseState.Y)
    cursorPosition.Y += amountOfMovement * 4f * (currentMouseState.Y - previousMouseState.Y);

// Keep cursor on the screen
    if (cursorPosition.X + CurrentScreen.CursorImage.Width < 0)
    cursorPosition.X = -CurrentScreen.CursorImage.Width;
    else if (cursorPosition.X + CurrentScreen.CursorImage.Width > SCREEN_WIDTH)
    cursorPosition.X = SCREEN_WIDTH - CurrentScreen.CursorImage.Width;

if