Xbox LIVE Indie Games
Sort Discussions: Previous Discussion Next Discussion
Page 1 of 1 (9 posts)

Particle3DSample and Camera

Last post 6/25/2009 10:19 AM by Janellesnow. 8 replies.
  • 5/22/2009 2:53 PM

Particle3DSample and Camera

I am working on the particle in my project from the tutorial sample of Particle3DSample. I am new with XNA.

I notice that the AddParticle(position, velocity) is causing the particle to be following the camera when ever I move the camera. And particle need camera.viewMatrix and camera.projectionMatrix in order to render in the game world. I found a forum discussion http://forums.xna.com/forums/p/27329/150327.aspx#150327, but i do not quite understand.

Can anyone please help me? How can I get the particle to render in the world, not following the camera position?

/// </summary> 
    public void SetCamera(Matrix view, Matrix projection)

{
    effectViewParameter.SetValue(view);
    effectProjectionParameter.SetValue(projection);
    }

Thanks in advance.
  • 5/22/2009 6:27 PM In reply to

Re: Particle3DSample and Camera

The particles are moving along with the camera because the position you give them is in the local coordinate space of camera instead of the world's coordinate system. When you move the camera, the particles positions have to be updated relative to the camera.  

For example, if the camera moves up, what do you expect to happen?  All the particles should move down, right?   If your camera has a position then you need to store that position and subtract that from the particles position when you add it to the sceen.

One important thing to remember with graphics is there really is no mathematical difference between moving an object in one direction or moving the camera in the opposite direction.   The end position that the graphics card uses will be the same.   
  • 5/22/2009 6:57 PM In reply to