Xbox LIVE Indie Games
Sort Discussions: Previous Discussion Next Discussion
Page 1 of 1 (18 posts)

Make sprite move without input

Last post 2/27/2009 8:09 AM by Yakra. 17 replies.
  • 2/19/2009 9:40 PM

Make sprite move without input

Hey guys I am very new to XNA..I have done some programming so I can understand most code that I read I just have problems writing it.  What I am trying to do is create a battle scene that is totally automated, pretty much it is a video and not a game.  I can do basic stuff like add a sprite to the screen and saw some code where I can make it bounce around the screen kind of like a screensaver.  I have not been able to find any code on how to move a sprite to specific points on the screen without input.  I am guessing it is some kind of big for loop or something like that.  Just wondering if anybody has any examples of how to do this or could just help me out at all.  Thanks in advance
  • 2/19/2009 9:44 PM In reply to

Re: Make sprite move without input

beb:
    Hey guys I am very new to XNA..I have done some programming so I can understand most code that I read I just have problems writing it.  What I am trying to do is create a battle scene that is totally automated, pretty much it is a video and not a game.  I can do basic stuff like add a sprite to the screen and saw some code where I can make it bounce around the screen kind of like a screensaver.  I have not been able to find any code on how to move a sprite to specific points on the screen without input.  I am guessing it is some kind of big for loop or something like that.  Just wondering if anybody has any examples of how to do this or could just help me out at all.  Thanks in advance

You could programatically change the coordinates of the sprite in the update routine and then display the sprite at those coordinates in the render or draw routine. 
  • 2/19/2009 10:09 PM In reply to