Xbox LIVE Indie Games
Sort Discussions: Previous Discussion Next Discussion
Page 1 of 1 (7 posts)

Moving a Character

Last post 10/16/2009 12:35 AM by india103. 6 replies.
  • 1/21/2009 10:10 PM

Moving a Character

Hi everyone! I have a question, I just started learning XNA. I've learned how to display a Sprite onto the screen, but I'm confused as to why my code won't allow me to move the sprite. Here's what I have in the Update class:

KeyboardState keys = Keyboard.GetState();
    if (keys.IsKeyDown(Keys.Right)) mSprite.Position.X = mSprite.Position.X++;

Why won't this move the sprite to the right when using the right key? Thank you very much for your help everyone! I'm trying to make a simple 2D game where you have to collect items, but you're only able to move the character to the left and the right. Thanks again!
  • 1/21/2009 10:26 PM In reply to

Re: Moving a Character

You are using the ++ post-fix operator.

This is how the code runs when the key is pressed:
    store original value of X
    increment X
    Set X = original value of x

You want either
    mSprite.Position.X++;
    or
    mSprite.Position.X = mSprite.Position.X + 1;
    or
    mSprite.Position.X += 1;

For more info on how the post-fix increment operation works, read this article
  • 1/21/2009 10:35 PM In reply to

Ah you're right! User error! :)

Thank you very much! If I may ask you one more question:

How do I simulate jumping? The character is starting at the Y position 280, and I'd like him to jump to 285, and then gradually back down. Is there a way to create a loop that has a pause in it that allows me to see the jump? I tried to do the following code, but it goes by so quick that you don't get to see him jump! Thank you very much!

if (keys.IsKeyDown(Keys.Space))
                {
                    mSprite.Position.Y = 281;
                    mSprite.Position.Y = 282;
                    mSprite.Position.Y = 283;
                    mSprite.Position.Y = 284;