Xbox LIVE Indie Games
Sort Discussions: Previous Discussion Next Discussion
Page 1 of 2 (50 posts) 1 2 Next >

Can you use XNA as a vi[a]ble way to make money?

Last post 1/8/2009 11:41 AM by Novaleaf Software. 49 replies.
  • 11/26/2008 11:28 PM

Can you use XNA as a vi[a]ble way to make money?

Im new to XNA but before I start making games and stuff I want to know if i I can make a good amount of money from XNA or if its more like a hobby that you can use on a resume and make a little money? Estimates would be appreciated thanks.
  • 11/26/2008 11:33 PM In reply to

Re: Can you use XNA as a vible way to make money?

If you can make a game as good or better than Weapon of Choice, you have a shot.  Many, if not most of the games put up so far will be lucky to break the $150 earnings required to get a check.
  • 11/26/2008 11:37 PM In reply to

Reality Shift:
    If you can make a game as good or better than Weapon of Choice, you have a shot.  Many, if not most of the games put up so far will be lucky to break the $150 earnings required to get a check.

And you based that statement on.....? Maybe you possess some knowledge not made public to the rest of the world?

Right now, everything is just speculations. We won't know anything until the first checks are paid, and developers talk about it.
  • 11/26/2008 11:39 PM In reply to

If you can develop the gameplay, code and art for a game that people will actually pay for, then you can make money on XNA Community Games. Exactly how much you "can" make is not really limited, but some marketing realities probably will limit the total possible take.