Xbox LIVE Indie Games
Sort Discussions: Previous Discussion Next Discussion
Page 1 of 2 (28 posts) 1 2 Next >

Collision Detection - How?n00b time

Last post 10/24/2008 7:55 AM by matieman. 27 replies.
  • 10/21/2007 11:01 AM

Collision Detection - How?n00b time

Hey all,

First off, I'm an artist, not a good programmer, but I'm learning. I'm trying to create a very very basic engine to test out stuff I create in XNA. Here's the basis for my engine: A guy walks around on terrain. Not too hard, right? I can get my models into XNA, I can animate them, normal map them, anything the samples show me how(copy-paste coding basically :\). All I need is to be able to do some collision detection with something other than collision spheres. something that will detect where my player collides with the terrain (terrain will be modeled, not height map, It's complex map geometry). Any suggestions?

*I've heard of some Dx stuff with triangle collision detection, but never found many articles on it, is this worth looking into? also newton physics?

thx ahead of time,
    -Chris
  • 10/21/2007 1:24 PM In reply to

Re: Collision Detection - How?n00b time

there are 2 classes in xna that help you in collision detection BoundngBox and BoundingSphere.