Xbox LIVE Indie Games
Sort Discussions: Previous Discussion Next Discussion
Page 1 of 1 (16 posts)

Turn-Based Strategy Game Starter Kit?

Last post 5/16/2010 8:22 PM by Fuzzlewhumper. 15 replies.
  • 6/1/2008 3:49 PM

Turn-Based Strategy Game Starter Kit?

Hello:

I'm just starting out game programming, and most of this is new to me. I have what I believe to be a very good idea for a game, but since I am still learning I find it extremely difficult to not get discouraged or frustrated while trying to create my idea. So my question is; Is there any possibility of getting a strategy game starter kit based on hex-map tile engine? I've been learning about tile engines, but every resource I have found that tries to explain the creation of hex map tile engine seems a little confusing due to the lack of detailed explanations. I understand the basics of the implementation, but I have a disconnect from code to brain when it comes to implementation. If I could just SEE what they are talking about by having a working example, I KNOW I could more easily understand it.

I have a lot of the background calculations done in terms of calculating to-hit, hit locations, and a great many other things, but I am being stopped by the graphics. I don't want to see this game idea go to waste, so I was hoping that I could get some help, or that a starter kit for a hex-based tile map could be created.

• 6/2/2008 11:45 PM In reply to

Re: Turn-Based Strategy Game Starter Kit?

WraithKind:
    I have what I believe to be a very good idea for a game, but since I am still learning I find it extremely difficult to not get discouraged or frustrated while trying to create my idea.

Perhaps that's a sign that you should try something simpler to get started?

WraithKind:
    So my question is; Is there any possibility of getting a strategy game starter kit based on hex-map tile engine?