Xbox LIVE Indie Games
Sort Discussions: Previous Discussion Next Discussion
Page 1 of 2 (29 posts) 1 2 Next >

C# Port of Recast Detour Navigation Mesh for XNA, A* Pathing

Last post 7/13/2013 1:59 AM by rmm5. 28 replies.
  • 12/21/2012 11:32 AM

C# Port of Recast Detour Navigation Mesh for XNA, A* Pathing

I'm releasing Sick Kreations C# port of 'Recast/Detour by Mikko Mononen' to the community and hope it helps others solve complex AI path finding.

To get zombies following the player in our game End of Days: Survivor was a big challenge, we have 3 story buildings, a subway and complex geometry for props through out the level. Our target was to get 32 zombies pathing after the player along with another hundred zombies randomly pathing through the streets, a huge load for any CPU.

I have some experience with A* path finding and worked for a game company were we broke levels up into 2D grids and implemented a clever technique to represent more than one level in a byte, but even this compact representation of a complex level resulted in millions of bytes of data for path finding. We had some efficient code to run A* type route finding on the data that works on a PC but was less than idea for something like the Power PC on the Xbox360.

I implemented my own version of this for the End Game Engine and could barley path 4 zombies after the player at 30 updates a second, and that would drop to 4-10  updates a second if a path failed to get a route from the start node to the end node.

So began the search for something that would work for us and thankfully I found Recast Detour by Mikko Mononen.
    Check out his blog here, his stuff is insane and way beyond anything we at Sick Kreations could have come up with and he's released this as open source for any and all to use.

The only issue was that the source is C++ and I believe the only port to C# is for the Unity Engine and its nothing we could use for our engine.